The official currency used by the eurozone. It was was adopted Dec. 16, 1995, introduced to world financial markets Jan. 1, 1999 – replacing the ECU (European Currency Unit), and entered into circulation with banknotes and coins Jan. 1, 2002.

The European Central Bank administers the Euro.

Only 17 of the 27 European Union members use the Euro. They are:  Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain.

Lithuania and Latvia are expected to start using the euro in the next few years.

Other countries that are not part of the Euro-zone but that use the Euro include: Andorra, Kosovo, Montenegro, Monaco, Sam Marino, and the Vatican City.